CaseSearch
Blog / Pricing 7 min read

CoCounsel Free Trial and Demo Routes Plus Cost

September 2026 · CaseSearch

Research this in plain English

Ask a legal question and get cited cases, plain-language holdings, and a still-good-law signal in seconds. A research tool, not legal advice.

CaseSearch research console
Try:

Reading opinions

Finding the authorities that answer your question...

Sample answer. That question is outside the worked examples this preview ships with, so the authorities below show the format rather than an answer to what you typed. Pick one of the example questions above for a fully worked result.

Controlling statute

The controlling statute is surfaced alongside the case law so you read the code and the precedents together.

Plain-English answer

Research memo

Question
Short answer
Authorities

CaseSearch shows you the sources. Always read the full opinion and verify citations before you rely on them.

Thomson Reuters offers a free trial of CoCounsel Essentials, but not a self-serve one: you fill in a request form and a representative schedules the trial with you. CoCounsel Legal, the full product, offers a free demo and an online plans page instead of a trial. The fastest hands-on route is often the Westlaw free trial, which runs 7 days with no credit card. After any of these, CoCounsel is a paid subscription; the Westlaw Advantage with CoCounsel Essentials bundle starts at $415.35 a month for one attorney on a three year term.

Most articles on this topic either say there is no trial at all or repeat an unsourced claim about 30 to 60 day promotional trials. We went to the Thomson Reuters pages themselves in September 2026 and read what each one offers. Here is every route, what each one gets you, and what to settle before the clock starts.

Does CoCounsel have a free trial?

Yes for CoCounsel Essentials, no for CoCounsel Legal. The two products sit on separate Thomson Reuters pages and are sold differently, which is where most of the confusion comes from.

The CoCounsel Essentials product page carries a "Request free trial" button. It opens a form headed "See what CoCounsel Essentials can do for your organization", with the line "Fill out the form and a representative will reach out shortly to schedule your free trial." The page describes the product as AI document analysis, review and drafting, with tasks like summarizing, comparing and extracting key information from legal documents automated. It does not state how long the trial lasts.

The CoCounsel Legal product page has two calls to action: "Request free demo" and "View plans". There is no trial button. CoCounsel Legal is the full agentic product, the one Thomson Reuters describes as reasoning from Westlaw, Practical Law and your firm's own knowledge, with Deep Research and end-to-end workflows. You see it in a demo, or you buy it.

ProductWhat Thomson Reuters offersHow you get itLength
CoCounsel EssentialsFree trialRequest form, a representative schedules itNot stated
CoCounsel LegalFree demoRequest form, or buy through the plans configuratorNo trial
Westlaw Advantage, Edge, Edge with AI-Assisted ResearchFree trialTrial request form, no credit card7 days
Westlaw Advantage with CoCounsel EssentialsOnline purchasePlans configurator, firms of 1 to 10 attorneysAccess typically within 1 business day of buying

How to get a CoCounsel free trial

For CoCounsel Essentials, go to the Essentials product page on legal.thomsonreuters.com, choose Request free trial, and complete the form with your business details. The form includes a consent to be contacted by Thomson Reuters, which is the point: the trial arrives through a sales representative, not an instant login. Expect a call or an email to set it up, and expect the conversation to include pricing.

Use that call. Before you accept a start date, ask four things: how many days the trial runs, whether it covers every skill or a subset, whether your trial work is kept or deleted when it ends, and what plan the representative would quote you afterward. Ask for the answers by email. A trial with an unstated length is easy to lose half of to scheduling.

If you want to see CoCounsel Legal, request the free demo from its product page. A demo is useful for seeing the agentic workflows and Deep Research in motion, but somebody else chooses the questions. Bring one of your own and ask them to run it live.

Can you get CoCounsel for free with Westlaw?

Not free, but often bundled. Thomson Reuters sells Westlaw Advantage with CoCounsel Essentials as one plan, and prices it online for law firms of one to ten attorneys. The plans configurator asks your sector, the number of attorneys and the jurisdiction, then shows a price for each term. We ran it on September 21, 2026:

One attorney, per month1 year term2 year term3 year term
Westlaw Advantage with CoCounsel Essentials, one federal circuit$511.20$447.30$415.35
Westlaw Advantage with CoCounsel Essentials, all states and federal$639.20$559.30$519.35
CoCounsel share of the all states plan (our subtraction of Westlaw Advantage alone)$88.00$77.00$71.50

Online pricing is for new customers only; existing Westlaw subscribers are sent to sales at 888-728-7677, option 2. Thomson Reuters says customers typically get access within one business day of signing up. The full configured matrix, including two attorney prices, is on our Westlaw CoCounsel pricing page.

The Westlaw free trial is the other practical door. Thomson Reuters gives 7 days with all the premium features and content of the product you trial and asks for no credit card. Separate trial pages exist for Westlaw Advantage, Westlaw Edge and Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted Research. Whether a given trial seat includes CoCounsel skills is something to confirm with the representative before the week starts; the trial pages do not promise it. Our Westlaw free trial guide covers how to run those seven days.

What to test during a CoCounsel trial

CoCounsel is strongest on documents. In the Vals Legal AI Report of February 2025, CoCounsel scored 89.6 percent on document question answering and 77.2 percent on summarization, the top summarization score in that study. So test it on the documents you actually handle: a deposition transcript to summarize, two versions of a contract to compare, a stack of discovery to search for a fact you already know is there.

If most of the documents you plan to load are commercial leases, test against a dedicated tool as well. General legal AI will summarize a lease, but lease abstraction software pulls rent, options, renewal dates and assignment clauses into a structured abstract built for that one job, and it is the fairer comparison for a real estate practice.

Then test research separately. Ask three questions from live matters where you already know the controlling authority. Check that every case CoCounsel cites exists, says what the answer claims, and still has good law behind it. Time how long the checking takes. That time is the real cost of any AI answer, and it varies more between tools than the subscription price does.

  • Documents: one transcript summary, one contract comparison, one document search with a known answer.
  • Research: three live questions with known answers; verify every citation.
  • Workflow: does the output land where you work (Word, your document management system) or does it need copying?
  • Price: the plan and term you would actually buy, in writing, before the trial ends.

Is CoCounsel worth paying for after the trial?

It is worth it for a firm that already lives in Westlaw and spends real hours on document review, summaries and first drafts. The bundle adds about $71.50 to $88 a month per attorney over Westlaw Advantage alone, which a single saved hour of associate time can cover. Our Westlaw CoCounsel review goes through where it earns that and where it does not.

It is harder to justify when the job is narrower. Many small firms want one thing from legal AI: find the decisions that control a question and confirm they are still good law. Paying $415 to $639 a month on a multi-year term for that is a lot. CaseSearch does that one job at a price printed on the page: ask a legal question in plain English and get the on-point US decisions with citations, the holding in plain language and a good-law signal, for $49 a month month to month or $24 a month billed yearly. You can run one real question in the console above without an account, which is a shorter path than any trial form.

If you are comparing trials across vendors rather than only Thomson Reuters, our legal AI free trial comparison sets the length, route and post-trial price of each major tool side by side, from the 2 day Lexis+ with Protege trial to the 14 day Clio Work trial.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a CoCounsel Legal trial?

No. CoCounsel Legal offers a free demo, not a trial; its product page shows "Request free demo" and "View plans" and nothing else. The hands-on routes are a scheduled CoCounsel Essentials trial or the 7 day Westlaw trial. If you want to test the full product, ask the demo rep for trial access in writing.

Is there a free trial of CoCounsel Essentials?

CoCounsel Essentials does. You request it through a form on the Thomson Reuters site and a representative schedules the trial; the length is not published. CoCounsel Legal offers a free demo instead of a trial. The Westlaw free trial, 7 days with no credit card, is another hands-on route to Thomson Reuters AI.

How do I get a CoCounsel demo?

Use the "Request free demo" button on the CoCounsel Legal product page at legal.thomsonreuters.com. A representative contacts you to schedule a live walkthrough. Bring one real question from your own practice and ask them to run it during the demo, so you see the product on your work rather than a prepared example.

How much does CoCounsel cost after the trial?

Westlaw Advantage with CoCounsel Essentials costs $415.35 to $639.20 a month for one attorney, depending on jurisdiction and term, in Thomson Reuters' online configurator. Our subtraction puts the CoCounsel share at $71.50 to $88 a month on the all states plan. Online prices are for new customers at firms of one to ten attorneys.

Is CoCounsel included in Westlaw?

Not in every plan. Westlaw Advantage, Westlaw Edge and Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted Research are sold without it. CoCounsel Essentials comes in the Westlaw Advantage with CoCounsel Essentials bundle, and CoCounsel Legal is priced separately through its own plans page.

Can I cancel CoCounsel after the trial?

A trial that you never convert costs nothing; Thomson Reuters' Westlaw trial FAQ says you are not billed until you sign up for a subscription, and the Essentials trial is scheduled, not bought. Once you buy, you are on a 1, 2 or 3 year term, so choose the term before checkout. See our guide to cancelling a Westlaw or LexisNexis subscription for how terms and renewals work.

Research your next question in plain English

Ask in plain English and get cited cases, plain-language holdings, and a still-good-law signal in seconds. A research tool, not legal advice.

Get started

CaseSearch is a legal research tool, not legal advice. Always read the full opinion and verify citations before relying on them.

Start now

Ask your next question in plain English

Get the cases, citations, and holdings that answer it in seconds. You read the opinion and verify. A research tool, not legal advice.

Get started