CaseSearch
LEGAL AI FREE TRIALS

Legal AI Free Trial Guide With Lexis+ AI Free Trial, Harvey AI Free Trial and Vincent AI Free Trial Compared

Every legal AI vendor says "try it". Only some of them mean a login you can use tonight. We read the trial page and the trial terms of each major tool so you know which ones hand you access, which ones hand you a sales call, and what the subscription costs when the trial ends.

US firms · Research tool, not legal advice

CaseSearch research console
Try:

Reading opinions

Finding the authorities that answer your question...

Sample answer. That question is outside the worked examples this preview ships with, so the authorities below show the format rather than an answer to what you typed. Pick one of the example questions above for a fully worked result.

Controlling statute

The controlling statute is surfaced alongside the case law so you read the code and the precedents together.

Plain-English answer

Research memo

Question
Short answer
Authorities

CaseSearch shows you the sources. Always read the full opinion and verify citations before you rely on them.

The short answer

Most legal AI tools offer some form of free trial, but the length and the route differ a lot. Lexis+ with Protege gives an individual 2 consecutive days of use. Westlaw gives 7 days with no credit card. Paxton gives 7 days, Clio Work 14 days, and Midpage two weeks with no sales call. CoCounsel Essentials trials are scheduled by a Thomson Reuters representative, CoCounsel Legal offers a demo instead, and Harvey and Bloomberg Law offer demos only. CaseSearch gives one real research run without an account, then costs $49 a month, or $24 a month billed yearly.

2 days

the Lexis+ with Protege trial, one individual user, once a year

7 days

the Westlaw trial, with no credit card asked for

14 days

the Clio Work trial, the longest from a major vendor

0

self-serve trials from Harvey or Bloomberg Law

Side by side

Legal AI free trials compared

Read from each vendor's own trial page, trial terms and pricing page in September 2026. "Not stated" means the vendor's page does not give the figure; we do not fill it in from third-party articles.

Tool Trial offered Length How you get it Price after the trial
Lexis+ with Protege (formerly Lexis+ AI) Yes Up to 2 consecutive days Signup form, eligibility checked; one trial per person per year $495 a month on a 3 year term for 1 to 3 attorneys on a store version in testing since October 2026, Pricing on request on the older page; Lexis+ without the AI from $114
Westlaw Advantage, Edge and Edge with AI-Assisted Research Yes 7 days Trial request form, no credit card Online plans from $107.25 a month (Edge, one state, 3 year term)
CoCounsel Essentials (Thomson Reuters) Yes Not stated Form, then a representative schedules the trial Priced in an online configurator for firms of 1 to 10 attorneys
CoCounsel Legal (Thomson Reuters) Demo No trial offered on the product page Request free demo, or buy through the plans configurator Configurator price, new customers only
Harvey No None Request a Demo Quote only
Vincent AI (vLex, part of Clio) Yes Not stated Start a Free Trial form on vlex.com Quote; Clio Work launched at $199 per user per month
Clio Work Yes 14 days Self-serve signup, or book a demo Per-user pricing; launched at $199 per user per month
Paxton Yes 7 days Self-serve signup $499 per user per month, or $2,999 per user per year
Midpage Yes Two weeks Self-serve, "No sales call required" Professional $100 a month billed monthly
Bloomberg Law No self-serve trial None published Request a Demo Quote only; federal awards show $409.50 to $489 per seat per month
CaseSearch Demo run One full research run, no account Ask your question on this page $49 a month, or $24 a month billed yearly

Lexis+ with Protege terms: "Offer is valid for up to 2 consecutive days of use", "limited to the individual user only", "Not available to employees of government entities, academic institutions, individual consumers, individual students or employees of LexisNexis competitors", "One trial per recipient per year". The published terms page still carries an end date of December 31, 2025, while the signup page was live in September 2026. Westlaw terms are from Thomson Reuters' trial FAQ. CaseSearch is a research tool, not legal advice.

Which legal AI tools offer a free trial?

Seven of the ten tools we checked offer something you can call a trial: Lexis+ with Protege, Westlaw, CoCounsel Essentials, Vincent AI, Clio Work, Paxton and Midpage. Two, Harvey and Bloomberg Law, route every prospect to a demo request. Thomson Reuters splits the difference with its own AI: CoCounsel Essentials has a trial request form, while the CoCounsel Legal product page offers a free demo and a plans page, with no trial button.

The word "trial" hides three very different things. A self-serve trial (Clio Work, Paxton, Midpage) gives you a login the same day and a clock that starts immediately. A request trial (Westlaw, CoCounsel Essentials, Lexis+ with Protege, vLex) puts a form and a verification step in front of the login, so there is a sales conversation attached even if you never asked for one. A demo (Harvey, Bloomberg Law, CoCounsel Legal) means somebody else drives the product while you watch.

For a buying decision, only the first two count. A demo tells you what the product does on the vendor's chosen question. A trial tells you what it does on yours, which is the only test that predicts whether the subscription pays for itself.

Self-serve trial

Clio Work, Paxton, Midpage.

Trial on request

Westlaw, Lexis+ with Protege, CoCounsel Essentials, Vincent AI.

Demo only

Harvey, Bloomberg Law, CoCounsel Legal.

No account needed

CaseSearch runs one full research question before signup.

Does Lexis+ AI have a free trial?

Yes, but it is short. Lexis+ AI is now sold as Lexis+ with Protege, and its signup page offers a 2-day free trial. The trial terms say the offer "is valid for up to 2 consecutive days of use beginning with first issuance of the trial ID", that it is limited to the individual user, and that unused time is not credited or extended.

The eligibility rules matter more than the length. LexisNexis verifies the information on the request and excludes employees of government entities and academic institutions, individual consumers, students and employees of competitors. You get one trial per recipient per year, so a firm that burns its trial on a quiet week cannot simply ask again next month. LexisNexis has run 7, 14 and 30 day offers in the past; the terms live today say 2 days.

After the trial, the price depends on which store page you see. On a store version LexisNexis began testing in October 2026, firms of one to three attorneys can buy Protege Assistant with Lexis Complete at $495 a month per attorney on a three year term, or $660 on one year. On the older page the Lexis+ with Protege row reads "Pricing on request", with a Free Trial button where the four research plans show Subscribe Now. Those research plans run $114 to $324 a month per attorney on a three year term, without the assistant.

Length

Up to 2 consecutive days from the trial ID.

Who can apply

Law firm and business users; not government, academic, consumer or student.

How often

One trial per recipient per year.

Price after

Protege from $495 a month on 3 years on the new store version, on request on the older page; research plans from $114.

Does Harvey AI have a free trial?

No. Harvey publishes no free trial and no price. Every call to action on its site is Request a Demo, which goes to a sales form. Harvey sells to large firms and in-house legal teams on negotiated contracts, and the demo is the start of an enterprise sales process, not a way to try the product on your own matter.

If you are a small or mid-sized US firm searching for a Harvey trial, the practical question is what you wanted to test. For drafting and document review, Clio Work and Paxton both let you in for a week or more without a call. For finding and checking case law, the tools built around a legal research library (Westlaw, Lexis+, vLex, Midpage and CaseSearch) are the fairer comparison, and all of them let you try before you pay.

Trial

None published.

Route

Request a Demo, sales-led.

Price

Quote only.

Try instead

Clio Work or Paxton for drafting, a research tool for case law.

Does Vincent AI have a free trial?

Yes. vLex, now part of Clio, runs a Start a Free Trial page on vlex.com, and every "Try Vincent" button on the site points to it. The page does not state a length. It says the trial lets you "experience all the features and benefits of AI-powered legal technology" and collects your details through a form.

Vincent is also inside Clio Work, which has its own, clearly stated trial: "Start your 14-day trial of Clio Work." Clio Work launched in October 2025 as an add-on at $199 per user per month for Clio Manage subscribers and is now sold standalone to small and mid-sized firms, with per-user pricing and a quote for the Signature Work and Elite Work packages. If you want the longest documented clock on a Vincent-powered product, the Clio Work trial is it.

vLex trial

Form on vlex.com, length not stated.

Clio Work trial

14 days, self-serve.

Clio Work price

Launched at $199 per user per month.

Packages

Signature Work and Elite Work, quote-based.

Does CoCounsel have a free trial?

It depends which CoCounsel. CoCounsel Essentials has a request free trial page: you fill in a form and "a representative will reach out shortly to schedule your free trial". CoCounsel Legal, the full product, offers a "Request free demo" button and a link to its plans, and no trial. Thomson Reuters prices CoCounsel Legal and the Westlaw Advantage with CoCounsel Essentials bundle through an online configurator for firms of one to ten attorneys, for new customers only.

The quickest hands-on route to Thomson Reuters AI is often the Westlaw trial itself: seven days, no credit card, and all the premium features of the product you trial. Our CoCounsel free trial guide walks through each route, what to ask the representative, and what the bundle costs once the trial ends.

CoCounsel Essentials

Trial scheduled by a representative.

CoCounsel Legal

Demo, then a configurator price.

Westlaw

7 day trial, no credit card.

Bundle price

Westlaw Advantage with CoCounsel Essentials from $415.35 a month (one circuit, 3 year term).

Is there a legal AI with no sales call?

Yes, a few. Midpage says it outright: "No sales call required, and your first two weeks are on us", then $100 a month for its Professional plan billed monthly. Paxton gives a 7 day trial through a self-serve signup and then charges $499 per user per month, or $2,999 per user per year. Clio Work lets you start a 14 day trial from a signup page as well as through a demo.

CaseSearch goes one step further and does not ask for an account at all. The research console on this page runs one real research question: you ask in plain English and get the on-point US decisions with citations, the holding in plain language and a good-law signal, from the same corpus a paid run uses, with three authorities instead of five. If it answers the way you need, the Solo plan is $49 a month month to month, or $24 a month billed yearly, bought online with no call.

Midpage

Two weeks, then $100 a month.

Paxton

7 days, then $499 a month or $2,999 a year.

Clio Work

14 days, then per-user pricing.

CaseSearch

One run with no account, then $24 to $49 a month.

How to get the most out of a legal AI free trial

Decide the test before the clock starts. Two days of Lexis+ with Protege or seven of Westlaw disappear quickly if the first day goes on learning the menus. Pick three live questions from matters you are working on this month, ideally ones where you already know the controlling authority, so you can grade the answers instead of admiring them.

Run the same three questions through every tool on your shortlist. Check each citation the AI gives you: does the case exist, does it say what the answer claims, and is it still good law? Independent testing, including Stanford RegLab's study of Lexis+ AI and Westlaw's AI-Assisted Research, found hallucinated answers in both, so the check is the test. Note how long each answer took you to verify, because that time is what you are paying to save.

Put the end date and the price in writing before you start. Ask what the subscription costs after the trial, the term length, whether the price rises at renewal, and whether the trial converts automatically. Westlaw says it will not bill you until you sign up for a subscription; not every vendor puts that in writing, so ask.

Before

Three real questions with answers you already know.

During

Verify every citation, time the checking.

Compare

Same questions in every tool.

In writing

Post-trial price, term, renewal increase, auto-conversion.

Which legal AI free trial should a small firm start with?

Start with the job you would pay for. If the job is finding the decisions that control an issue and confirming they still stand, try a research tool first: the CaseSearch run on this page takes a minute and needs no account, and the Westlaw 7 day trial is the fairest benchmark against the incumbent. If the job is drafting, summarizing and reviewing documents, Clio Work (14 days) and Paxton (7 days) give you the most time on your own files.

Save the short, once-a-year trials for last. The 2 day Lexis+ with Protege trial is worth taking only when you have your test questions ready and a free afternoon on both days. And budget for the answer: the trials are free, the subscriptions behind them range from $24 a month for CaseSearch billed yearly to $499 a month for Paxton and quote-only enterprise contracts for Harvey.

Case law research

CaseSearch demo run, then Westlaw 7 days.

Documents and drafting

Clio Work 14 days, Paxton 7 days.

Last

Lexis+ with Protege, 2 days, once a year.

Skip

Demo-only vendors until you have a shortlist.

Frequently asked

Questions buyers ask about legal ai free trial

Is there a free legal AI?

Not a full one for professional work. The serious legal AI tools are paid subscriptions that offer a free trial or demo first: 2 days for Lexis+ with Protege, 7 for Westlaw and Paxton, 14 for Clio Work. CaseSearch runs one full research question without an account, then costs $49 a month, or $24 a month billed yearly.

Does Lexis+ AI have a free trial?

Yes. Lexis+ AI is now Lexis+ with Protege, and LexisNexis offers a 2-day free trial through a signup form. It is limited to one individual user, one trial per person per year, and excludes government, academic, consumer and student users. The AI tier itself is $495 per attorney per month on a three year term on a store version LexisNexis began testing in October 2026, and priced on request on the older page.

Does Harvey AI offer a free trial?

No. Harvey publishes no free trial and no price; its site offers Request a Demo only, which starts a sales process aimed at large firms and legal departments. Smaller firms can trial Clio Work or Paxton for drafting, or a research tool such as CaseSearch or Westlaw for case law.

Can you get CoCounsel for free?

Not permanently. CoCounsel Essentials offers a free trial scheduled by a Thomson Reuters representative, and CoCounsel Legal offers a free demo. After that it is a paid subscription, priced online for firms of one to ten attorneys through Thomson Reuters' plans configurator.

How long is the Westlaw free trial?

Seven days. Thomson Reuters gives trial users all the premium features and content of the product they trial and does not ask for a credit card or bill anything until you sign up for a subscription. Separate trial pages exist for Westlaw Advantage, Westlaw Edge and Edge with AI-Assisted Research.

Which legal AI has the longest free trial?

Among the tools we checked, Clio Work and Midpage, at 14 days and two weeks. Westlaw and Paxton give 7 days and Lexis+ with Protege gives 2. vLex does not state a length on its trial page, and Harvey and Bloomberg Law offer demos rather than trials.

Do legal AI free trials need a credit card?

Most do not. Westlaw states it does not ask for card details for a trial, and the Lexis+ with Protege, CoCounsel Essentials and vLex trials run through request forms rather than checkouts. CaseSearch needs neither a card nor an account for its demo run.

Start now

Try a real research question before you sign up for anything

Ask a legal question in plain English and read the on-point decisions, their citations and a good-law signal. One run needs no account. After that, a published price, self-serve, cancel anytime. A research tool, not legal advice.

Get started