Casesearch
Blog / Buyers guide 8 min read

LexisNexis Free Trial: How Long Lexis+ Trials Last and What They Cost After

August 2026 · Casesearch

Research this in plain English

Ask a legal question and get cited cases, plain-language holdings, and a still-good-law signal in seconds. A research tool, not legal advice.

CASESEARCH · RESEARCH
Try:

Reading opinions

Finding the authorities that answer your question...

Controlling statute

The controlling statute is surfaced alongside the case law so you read the code and the precedents together.

Plain-English answer

Research memo

Question
Short answer
Authorities

Casesearch shows you the sources. Always read the full opinion and verify citations before you rely on them.

LexisNexis does not run one free trial. It runs several, of different lengths, attached to different products and promotions, and the terms are stricter than most people expect. The LexisNexis law firm store offers a free trial against the Lexis+ with Protege listing, while separate LexisNexis offers have run at 7 days, 14 days and 30 days, and the promotional Trial ID terms describe an offer valid for up to 2 consecutive days of use. Whichever one you are given, it is limited to one individual, one trial per recipient per year, and it is not available to government employees, academics, students or individual consumers.

That is a genuinely different setup from the one competitor most people compare it against, and it is the reason so much published advice about the LexisNexis trial contradicts itself. Two articles can both be right about the trial length and still describe different offers. What follows is what is actually documented, where each number comes from, and how to run the evaluation so it answers the question you are really asking, which is whether the subscription afterwards is worth 114 to 432 dollars a month.

How long is the LexisNexis free trial?

It depends on the offer you came in through, and there is no single company-wide answer. The shortest documented one is the promotional Trial ID, whose terms state the offer is valid for up to 2 consecutive days of use beginning with first issuance of the trial ID. LexisNexis has also run a 7 day Lexis+ trial, a 14 day trial tied to its practice-guidance products, and a 30 day offer. The law firm store, separately, shows a free trial option beside the Lexis+ with Protege plan.

The practical consequence is that you should get the length in writing before you build an evaluation around it. A two day window and a thirty day window call for completely different plans: one is a demo you sit through, the other is enough time to run real matters through the platform. Ask the representative to confirm the number of days and the start date in the email that carries your credentials, because the clock in the Trial ID terms starts at issuance, not at first login.

TrialDocumented lengthWhat it attaches to
Promotional Trial IDUp to 2 consecutive days of useGeneric promotional access, per the published Trial ID terms
Lexis+ trial offer7 daysThe core Lexis+ legal research platform
Practice guidance trial14 daysPractical guidance and drafting products
Extended offer30 daysPromotional, availability varies
Lexis+ with ProtegeNot publishedA free trial button appears beside the AI tier on the law firm store

Treat that table as a map of what exists rather than a menu you can order from. Which offer you are eligible for is decided by LexisNexis after it reviews what you submit, not by you picking the longest one.

Who is not eligible for a LexisNexis free trial?

This is the part that catches people, and it is stated plainly in the Trial ID terms. The trial is not available to employees of government entities, academic institutions, individual consumers, individual students or employees of LexisNexis competitors. Use of the trial ID is limited to the individual user only, one promotional ID is allowed per recipient, and one trial is permitted per recipient per year.

Two further conditions are worth reading before you apply. LexisNexis states that the information you provide while requesting trial access will be verified to determine your eligibility, and that your access may be terminated immediately if any eligibility criterion is unacceptable. It also reserves the right to terminate the offer or your access for any reason, and says unused portions will not be credited or extended. Access is also expressly subject to your employer's policies, which matters if you are an associate requesting a trial your firm has not approved.

So the trial is aimed narrowly at practising attorneys in private practice who are plausible buyers. If you are a law student, a court employee, a government lawyer or a member of the public trying to look something up, the trial route is closed to you by the terms, and the honest answer is that you need a different source rather than a better application. Public options exist: many state and county bar associations provide a research platform as a member benefit, and CourtListener publishes more than nine million decisions from over 2,000 courts at no cost.

Is there a Lexis+ with Protege free trial?

The law firm store shows a free trial option against the Lexis+ with Protege listing, which is the only one of the five plans on that page without a price beside it. Protege is priced on request at every firm size, so the trial is effectively the front door to a sales conversation rather than a self-serve evaluation you can complete on your own.

It is worth being precise about which AI product you are trialling, because the naming has changed recently and stale comparisons are everywhere. Lexis+ with Protege launched on February 24, 2026 as a replacement for the earlier Lexis+ AI, not a rename of it, and was expanded on May 7, 2026 with agentic skills, collaboration workrooms and customer-held encryption keys. The store draws the distinction in its own words: Lexis+ is the premium plan integrating practical guidance, analytical tools and document analysis, while Lexis+ with Protege includes all of Lexis+ and adds generative AI on top.

That last point sets a floor under the eventual quote. Protege is not a cheaper AI-only alternative to a Lexis+ subscription, it is an addition to one, so the price you are eventually given includes the underlying platform. If a trial leaves you enthusiastic about the AI layer specifically, ask what the Lexis+ base costs and what Protege adds on top, as two numbers rather than one, before you compare it to anything else.

LexisNexis free trial vs Westlaw free trial

Compared side by side, the two incumbents take opposite approaches, and Westlaw's is the more transparent of the two. Thomson Reuters publishes a single 7 day Westlaw Advantage trial, states that it does not ask for credit card numbers or any payment information, says you will not be billed until you sign up for a subscription, and lists pro se individuals among the organization types that may request one. LexisNexis runs multiple overlapping offers with narrower eligibility and no single published length.

 LexisNexisWestlaw
Trial lengthVaries by offer: 2, 7, 14 or 30 days documented7 days, published
Credit card requiredNot stated in the Trial ID termsExplicitly not required
Auto-converts to paidNot statedExplicitly not; billing starts only when you subscribe
Available to individualsNot available to individual consumers or studentsPro se individuals listed as an eligible organization type
Government and academicExcluded from the Trial ID offerGovernment and academic listed as eligible organization types
FrequencyOne trial per recipient per yearNot stated
Entry price after$114 per attorney per month on a 3 year term$256.75 per month, single circuit

One caveat applies to any trial on either platform, and it is the most useful thing to understand before you start. A trial flatters every legal research product, because during a trial you are not on a plan, so the out-of-plan document charges that shape a real subscription bill never appear. The week you spend evaluating is the one week the pricing model is invisible to you.

What does LexisNexis cost after the free trial?

For a firm of one to three attorneys, the LexisNexis law firm store publishes four self-serve Lexis+ tiers. On a three year term they are Essential at 114 dollars per attorney per month, Deluxe Transactional at 217, Enhanced at 257 and Professional at 324. Paid a year at a time the same four plans are 152, 289, 342 and 432 dollars, because the store takes 10 percent off for a two year commitment and 25 percent off for three years.

Read the store carefully, because it shows the three year rate as the headline number and the one year rate beside it struck through, the way a retailer displays a sale. The 114 dollar figure everyone quotes is a 36 month commitment price. The two gaps worth knowing before you sign are that the Essential tier carries no federal caselaw at all, since federal material starts at Enhanced, and that self-serve purchasing stops at three attorneys. Our full breakdown of LexisNexis pricing sets out every tier at both term lengths, and our guide to the LexisNexis subscription covers buying a single seat.

If you are looking for a free LexisNexis report, you want a different company

A large share of searches for free LexisNexis access are not about legal research at all. They are about LexisNexis Risk Solutions, a separate business that compiles consumer reports, public records and insurance data. If you are trying to obtain your own consumer file, place a security freeze or dispute an entry, that is a statutory request made directly to LexisNexis Risk Solutions under the Fair Credit Reporting Act, and it has nothing to do with the Lexis+ trials described here. Requesting a legal research trial will not get you a copy of your file.

How to run the trial so it tells you something

Whatever length you get, the failure mode is the same: people spend it exploring features and learn nothing about whether the tool fits their practice. A short evaluation is only useful if it is adversarial. Pick research questions you have already answered, ideally three or four from matters you closed in the last year, and check whether the platform gets you to the same authority faster than what you use now. You already know the right answer, so you can measure the tool instead of being impressed by it.

Run every one of them in your actual jurisdiction. This matters more on Lexis than elsewhere because the entry plan is a single state product priced against the state you select, and the store offers 54 jurisdictions covering the 50 states plus the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. A trial that felt complete can turn into a subscription that does not reach your federal circuit, and you will not discover that until the first removal.

Then treat the paperwork as the real decision. Access is not immediate: the store FAQ says orders can take up to 72 hours to process. Cancellation terms are not published either, and the FAQ answers a question about cancelling early by directing you to contact support rather than describing a policy. Agreements in this category are commonly multi-year with an evergreen auto-renewal clause requiring written notice before the term ends. When the order form comes back for you to sign and return, the renewal rate, the notice window and the coverage you agreed verbally need to be on that document, because a promotional price is explicitly a new customer price and nothing obliges it to survive into year two. If you are trialling because you already want out of an incumbent, our guide to switching legal research providers covers the notice mechanics, and the Westlaw pricing breakdown gives you the other side's published numbers to bring to the table.

The short version

There is no single LexisNexis free trial. Documented offers run at 2, 7, 14 and 30 days depending on the product and promotion, the AI tier has a trial but no published price, and the terms exclude government employees, academics, students, individual consumers and competitor staff, with one trial per recipient per year and eligibility verified before access is granted. Confirm your length and start date in writing, test the platform against questions you have already answered in your own jurisdiction, and settle the renewal rate and notice period on the order form. The trial is the cheap part. The three year term that follows is the decision. If you would rather compare against something you can simply try, our LexisNexis alternatives comparison sets out what each option costs and what it gives up.

Research your next question in plain English

Ask in plain English and get cited cases, plain-language holdings, and a still-good-law signal in seconds. A research tool, not legal advice.

Casesearch is a legal research tool, not legal advice. Always read the full opinion and verify citations before relying on them.

Start now

Ask your next question in plain English

Get the cases, citations, and holdings that answer it in seconds. You read the opinion and verify. A research tool, not legal advice.